Let's grow and mobilize our network

Thank you for your interest in and support for the Alberta Environmental Network in 2019. The AEN had a very busy year and we are planning for our activity and network to grow in 2020! Here's some of the highlights from 2019 that I am most excited about:

AEN members creating and disseminating a pre-election survey of provincial political parties asking them their positions and policies on key environmental issues.

Promoting members’ campaigns such as CPAWS’ Bighorn Country campaign, as well as creating an AEN Energy Efficiency campaign in partnership with Efficiency Canada and the Alberta Energy Efficiency Alliance.

Growing the network to intersect with other movements including health.

Launching the AEN Climate Caucus and Climate Communications Working Group.

Convening and connecting Alberta climate strikers and activists with AEN members in Edmonton.

Electing four new directors to the AEN board, representing more regions in Alberta.

Planning the creation of new caucuses and working groups in 2020.


There is no question that Albertans face serious, complex and growing environmental concerns in our province and share in the responsibility to tackle climate change. None of us can do this alone. For greatest impact we need to wisely grow, diversify, nurture and mobilize our network. We have enormous strength in numbers if we act strategically.

AEN staff, board and members are proactively adapting and developing our network in the face of scientific evidence and changing realities.

We aim to reach 100 individual donors by April 30, 2020. Although it is critical to protect our natural life support systems, environmental organizations such as AEN struggle for adequate, sustained funding. We are most resilient, agile and effective when supported financially by individual donors.

Please consider making a one-time or monthly donation to AEN.

Have a wonderful holiday and Merry Christmas to those who celebrate! On behalf of Russ, Jeff and the AEN Board of Directors—season's greetings!


Natalie Odd, Executive Director