Staff and Board


AEN’s team of staff are located in Calgary and Edmonton. They are responsible for the ongoing operations of the network and supporting members.  

Executive Director:

Natalie Odd ([email protected])

Natalie Odd (she/her) is the Executive Director of the Alberta Environmental Network (AEN) and has worked in the environmental nonprofit sector in Alberta for over 20 years. AEN has a membership of more than 50 environmental groups that connect, collaborate, mobilize and impact ecosystems. Over the past two years, Natalie has worked to partner AEN with other organizations for the Defend Alberta Parks (CPAWS Northern & Southern Alberta) and Protect our Water - Alberta Beyond Coal (Council of Canadians - Prairies-NWT Region) ground campaigns. Natalie is also working collaboratively to build Drawdown Alberta - a crowd-sourcing, climate-solutions movement that has also emerged in BC and Ontario - and to advance a Just Transition in Alberta. Natalie has run in four federal elections, advocating for environmental and social justice. She was born in Holland and has lived in England, France, Sweden and Ecuador.

Information & Financial Administrator: Russ Miyagawa ([email protected])
Energy Transition Campaigner:

Preet Kang ([email protected])

Preet Kang (she/her) is truly passionate about renewable energy and climate action. Preet’s formal education in chemical engineering has led to the understanding that the way energy is produced has a lasting effect on our world. She believes satisfying the increasing energy demand while maintaining sustainability and equity is a huge and complex issue in our communities. As a youth, she is curious about this challenge and eager to delve into opportunities that support climate policy and action. Preet is currently the Energy Transition Campaigner at the Alberta Environmental Network, working to advance a Just Transition in Alberta as the province moves to a low-carbon economy. 

For general inquiries, send a message on our contact form and we will direct your message.

The Alberta Environmental Network (AEN) is a non-profit organization that is governed by a volunteer board of directors. AEN members, which includes individuals and representatives from member groups, elect the board of directors at the annual general meeting. The network’s priorities, operations and staff are guided by the board.

Current board of directors

As individual members or representatives from member groups, AEN’s board of directors embodies the diversity of the network. The current members on the board are:

Chair: Joshua Buck
Vice-Chair: vacant
Secretary: Jacob Marchel
Treasurer: Robert Lees-Miller
Director: Norman Campbell
Director: Brian Deheer
Director: Rebecca Kauffman
Director: Spencer Roth
Director: Jodi Thesenvitz


Join the board of directors

Any individual member or a representative from a member group is eligible to sit on the AEN board. Directors are elected at the annual general meeting to two-year terms on the board. Members that are interested in becoming a board member are invited to contact Natalie Odd ([email protected]).